Hello, I’m attorney Randolph Rice, a Maryland
criminal defense attorney. Today we’re going to talk about 2nd degree
assault in Maryland. A lot of our clients ask a lot of questions
about second degree assault, such as; Is second degree assault a misdemeanor? Is
second degree assault a felony in Maryland? What are the maximum penalties of second degree
assault in Maryland? We’re going to try and answer some of those
questions today. First off, second degree assault in Maryland
is classified as a misdemeanor, it is not a felony.
If you’re convicted of second degree assault in Maryland, the maximum penalty is 10 years
in jail and a $2500 fine or both. A lot of people ask, can the State prove the
case against me? A lot of that depends on the facts of the
case, such as what do the victims want to do? What does the State Attorney’s office
want to do? What is the Judge willing to consider as evidence? And generally, what are the facts
of the case? If you’ve been charged with second degree
assault in Maryland, call me at my office 24 hours a day to schedule a free consultation.